Types of IRCTC PNR Status

Different PNR status types provided:

  • CNF – It means confirmed. The ticket status shows as CNF when seats are confirmed.
  • RAC – It stands for Reservation Against Cancellation meaning the train ticket has a confirmed seat but wait-listed berth. If the tickets are booked under RAC status, then the allocated berth has to be split into two seats.
  • CAN – It means cancelled i.e. ticket has been cancelled.
  • WL – Waiting List is a ticket status that gets confirmed only if the passengers on the same train who have booked before you cancel their ticket.
  • GNWL – General Waiting List. The probability of this ticket status getting confirmed is very high.
  • PQWL – Pooled Quota Waiting List status is issued when a passenger is travelling from the origin station to a station short of the last station, or from an intermediate station to the last station, or between any two intermediate stations.
  • RLWL – Remote Location Waiting List means a ticket has been issued to a passenger for intermediate stations (between the origin and terminating station). These intermediate stations are usually the most important towns on the route in particular.
  • TQWL – Tatkal Quota Waiting List. This is the waiting list for tatkal ticket bookingThe tickets in Tatkal get confirmed directly, instead of going through RAC. However during chart preparation GNWL is preferred over TQWL.
  • NOSB – It stands for NO SEAT BERTH which means journey is allowed without seat. This is allotted to child passengers below age 11 years.

If you are not able to get a confirmed ticket, check seat avaibility in other trains.

What does a PNR number generated explain?

PNR number holds various information related to the train journey.

  • Passenger Details – Name, Age, Sex, Birth Preference
  • Ticket Details – Train Number, Date of Journey, Origin/Source Station, Destination Station, Boarding Station, Class, Berth, Quota
  • Fare, Transaction Type and Payment Details
  • First 3 digits tell us from which Passenger Reservation System or PRS the ticket has been booked.
  • First digit depends on the Zone of the Train, w.r.t. starting station of the train.
  • Zonal Codes – 1 (SCR Secunderabad PRS); 2, 3 (NR, NCR, NWR, NER New Delhi PRS); 4, 5 (SR, SWR, SCR Chennai PRS); 6, 7 (NFR, ECR, ER, ECoR, SER, SECR Calcutta PRS); 8, 9 (CR, WCR, WR Mumbai PRS)
  • Last seven digits are randomly generated numbers using the Rand() function. These numbers represent no information about the ticket or journey as such. They only provide an unique identity to the PNR number.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top